Skip Nav


Our department is dedicated to advancing scientific understanding of the Earth, its fluids, and their history and future, preparing the next generation of earth scientists, and using our expertise to serve the broader scientific, government, and industry communities. Our most fundamental mission is to educate students at all levels. To that end we offer a B.A. and B.S. degree program in geology, a B.S. degree program in geophysics, M.S. and Ph.D. programs in geology, and M.S. and Ph.D. programs in geophysics.

The department has thirty-two faculty members, including three joint appointments from other departments, and four post-doctoral researchers. We also have four professors of practice, who previously worked in industry and are now teaching practical application of their knowledge. Our faculty’s diverse research activities include: basin analysis, environmental geology, geophysics, geochemistry, geodynamics, hydrology, mineralogy and petrology, paleontology, seismology, sedimentology and stratigraphy, petroleum geology, structural geology, and tectonophysics.

As part of a public university, our department contributes to society through our educational and research activities, including administrative and educational efforts inside and outside the university. We also serve the broader community by participating in scientific societies, providing advice to state and federal governments, acting as reviewers and editors, organizing meetings, and consulting with industry. As one of the top geology and geophysics departments in the United States, we encourage you to browse our website and learn more about our department.

Warm regards,

Mike Pope
Professor & Department Head

Geosciences TAMU Logo

Aggies can change the world. Geoscientists lead the way.